Watch Samsung’s Developer Conference 2018 keynote here




After more than five years of research and development, it seems like Samsung is finally ready to shed more light on its foldable phone project. The device could be a sign of things to come, as rival brands reportedly gear up for their own foldable devices.

The Korean company has previously confirmed that it’ll show off the device’s UI at this week’s Samsung Developers Conference. But we don’t know for sure whether the firm will also show off the device itself or a prototype.

In any event, Samsung will be live-streaming its keynote address today (November 7), and it’s embedded at the top of the article for your convenience. But before we delve into more live-stream details, what do we actually know about the phone?

Samsung’s plans unfold

A Samsung foldable phone concept from 2014.

The new phone is codenamed “Winner” according to the Wall Street Journal and XDA-Developers, with the latter outlet finding the name in firmware files. But that’s about the only solid information we have.

Nevertheless, rumors suggest the new phone will have a 7.3-inch display. Bloomberg adds that Samsung can’t decide whether the phone will fold out vertically or horizontally. The outlet also reports that the phone won’t feature an in-display fingerprint sensor.

As for core specs, such as chipset, RAM, storage space and battery capacity? Well, rumors have been quiet in this regard, but we’d expect a few more leaks closer to the phone’s release date. Speaking of the release date, it’s looking more and more likely that the phone will debut in 2019.

How to watch the Samsung keynote

In addition to the embedded live-stream at the top of the article, you can also access the YouTube and Facebook streams via the buttons below.

The keynote starts at 10AM PST for those on the west coast of the U.S., but here’s when it’ll start if you’re in another location.

  • San Francisco: 10AM
  • Chicago: 12PM
  • New York: 1PM
  • London: 6PM
  • Berlin: 7PM
  • Moscow: 9PM
  • Mumbai: 11:30PM
  • Beijing: 2AM
  • Sydney: 5AM

Looking for more Samsung foldable phone news ahead of the live-stream? You can visit our rumor hub over here for an exhaustive rundown. 

NEXT: Hands-on with the world’s first foldable smartphone




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*